Congratulations to New England Design’s Hall of Famers


From left to right, work by Shope, Reno, Wharton, Elliott & Elliott Architecture & Horiuchi Solien Landcape Design.

Once again, New England Home Design has announced their Hall of Fame inductees. And as usual, they did it in high style. The October 5 gathering, at the recently re-designed lobby of the Boston Design Center was fun for all of us.  As Silver Sponsors, we can’t wait for the November 3 Gala at the State Room (last year’s event was as beautiful, as it was beautifully orchestrated). And we just love the whole idea of The Hall of Fame’s permanent “Living Legacy” in the form of a birch grove in front of the Boston Design Center.

So, who did they honor as having significant impact in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture and interior design in New England? Our congratulations goes out to, for Architecture, Bernard Wharton, Shope Reno Wharton, South Norwalk, Connecticut, and Matthew and Elizabeth Elliott, Elliott + Elliott Architecture, Blue Hill Maine. In the category of Landscape Design, the honorees were  Kris Horiuchi and Daniel Solien, Horiuchi, Solien, h1c., Falmouth, MA.  And we extend a super special congratulations to our good friend, in the category of Interior Design,  Nancy Serafini, Horneworks Interior Design, Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts. If you don’t know their work, be sure to give it a look.

Kyle Hoepner, editor-in-chief of New England Home, said of this year’s talented inductees,   that they were “worthy additions to an already impressive roster of gifted and hardworking professionals. These are the people who have defined excellence in the field of residential design in New England, and we’re lucky to live in a region that boasts so many figures of outstanding commitment and creativity.”


A specialty award went to Boston’s North Bennett Street School and its President Miguel Gomez Ibanez, for their committment to preserving, teaching, and promoting craftsmanship and technical skill in carpentry, cabinet and furniture making, and similar fields. This gets a big seal of approval from us, as we greatly value this school and its mission.

The inductees for 2011 were selected by diverse and impressive members of New England’s design community , including: Jeremiah Eck, principal, Eck MacNeely Architects, and 2007 NEDHOF inductee; Keith LeBlanc, principal, Keith LeBlanc Landscape Architecture, and 2010 NEDHOF inductee; Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz, principals, C&J Katz Studio, and 2009 NEDHOF inductees; Theodore (Ted) Landsmark, president, Boston Architectural College; Julie Rogowski, vice president/general manager, Boston Design Center and Kyle Hoepner, editor-in-chief, New England Home magazine.

Don’t miss the Gala celebrating the new inductees. Tickets are available at, or by calling 800.609.5154. It will not only be a great night that we’re looking forward to, but proceeds will benefit the New England Hall of Fame Scholarship Fund.